About the Museum
At the Louisville Historical Museum complex, visitors can tour three buildings that were constructed between 1903 and 1908. All are listed on the Louisville Register of Historic Places.
The main building, historically known as the Jacoe Store, features a variety of artifacts and historic photographs that reflect the settlement and industry of Louisville, such as coal mining artifacts and the 1920s-era painted theatre curtain from the Rex Theatre on Main Street. This building was placed on the National Register of Historic Places because of its architecture and association with commercial development in Louisville.
Museum Main Building
The Tomeo House is interpreted as a coal miner’s house, with a kitchen, bedroom, and sitting room. It was the home of two of Louisville's many Italian families: the Tomeo family, then the Rossi family.
|Tomeo House||Jordinelli House
The Jordinelli House contains a six-foot by six-foot replica of original downtown Louisville, which was made by Louisville native, Dick Del Pizzo.
|Replica of Downtown Louisville at the Museum's Jordinelli House|