Sign up for our business emails
The City continues to monitor the evolving coronavirus (COVID-19) situation and its impacts on the Louisville community. The page will be updated with relevant information and resources for our local businesses.
Please visit the City's dedicated coroniavirus updates page for information on City facilities and public health.
The Colorado Office of Economic Development & International Trade (OEDIT) has created a list for Colorado small businesses to find access to alternative funding sources beyond EIDL, PPP and other federal loan programs. The sheet will be updated regularly.
If a local business is experiencing any issues with accessing technology to complete applications for federal assistance or unemployment, please reach out to Megan Pierce directly at firstname.lastname@example.org or 303-335-4531.
Energize Colorado: Non-Profit Focused on Helping Small Businesses Navigate COVID-19
Energize Colorado (EC) is a non-profit focused on helping small businesses get back on their feet following the impact of the COVID-19 pandemic. It has launched a small business mentorship program to support entrepreneurs during this critical time. Want to bounce ideas off an industry-pro? Need additional marketing support? Would a developer come in handy? When you use the "Find a Mentor Portal" from Energize Colorado, you can quickly unlock these valuable skills — giving your business an enormous edge.
Mentors are free and serve as experts in their domains. They come with fresh eyes, years of experience, and a shoulder you can lean on. You choose how your mentor relationship takes shape — your mentor may exist to answer an acute question, may evolve into a fruitful and sustained relationship, or may lie somewhere in between. Visit the Energize Colorado website to learn more.
Recently Signed Legislation to Assist Colorado Small Businesses:
- SB20-222: The bill creates a small business COVID-19 grant program, financed by $20 million from the federal money allocated to the state pursuant to the federal CARES Act. Colorado OEDIT will administer the grant program and the Colorado housing and finance authority (CHFA) will be contracted to operate the grant program. CHFA will work with nonprofit or community-based lenders that will underwrite and distribute the grants to small businesses pursuant to the program.
- To be eligible for a grant, a small business must have fewer than 25 employees and have been affected by economic hardship caused by the COVID-19 pandemic. A preference is given for a small business that did not qualify for or receive PPP; is majority owned by veterans, women, or minorities; or is located in a rural area. $5 million is earmarked, until October 1, 2020, for tourism businesses. The federal money must be spent by December 30, 2020.
- HB20-1413: The bill authorizes the state treasurer to establish a small business recovery loan program for $250 million to assist the state's recovery from the COVID-19 pandemic by leveraging private investment for loans to Colorado small businesses recovering from the COVID-19 crisis. The treasurer is authorized to contract with the Colorado housing and finance authority or a private entity selected through an open and competitive process. Once the money in a tranche is matched, it must be used to make loans of working capital to Colorado businesses with between 5 and 100 employees that meet eligibility criteria. The loans must be between $30,000 and $500,000, with a maturity of up to 5 years. The state treasurer may not invest a new tranche of state money until the prior tranche is at least 90% invested in small business loans.
Governor Polis updated and extended the Safer-at-Home Executive Order through June 30. On June 18, new amendments to the Safer at Home in the Vast, Great Outdoors was released-- giving additional guidance to businesses. Key highlights from this amendment include:
- Clarified the 25%, up to 50 person, cap in gyms excludes staff and allows lockers to be open (Section I.H.2.d)
- Added section addressing indoor and outdoor events, capped at 100 people per room indoors and 175 per designated activity outdoors (Section I.H.4)
- Removed numerous businesses from the prohibited list and eliminated the exceptions to the list that are no longer applicable (Section II.A and B)
- Authorized bars (without food) to open at 25% capacity, up to 50 people, authorized extra large restaurants and bars to operate indoors up to 100 people (see calculator, below), and made clarifying amendments regarding closure of self-service stations and communal/bar seating (Section II.C and Appendix I)
- Authorized non-critical manufacturing to operate at 50% capacity up to 50 people (Section II.H)
Update on Changes for Restaurants and Food Services (effective June 18, 2020):
- Restaurants, bars, and food services: Indoor and outdoor on-premise dining.
- Restaurants, where patrons go for the primary purpose of dine in service, may open up to 50%, or 50 people, whichever is fewer, so long as each table is at least 6 feet apart.
- Bars, where patrons go for the primary purpose of beverage consumption, may open up to 25% or 50 people, whichever is fewer, so long as each table is at least 6 feet apart.
- Extra-large venues that would like more than 50 patrons may use the calculator for indoor events to determine how many additional patrons they can accommodate indoors, up to 100 patrons total, which is the indoor variance limit for “medium” viral transmission.
- Indoor bars may open at 25% of the posted occupancy code limit and a maximum of 50 patrons. Outdoor bar service may be done in conjunction with local authorities.
- Extra-large venues, defined as greater than 7,200 square feet, may use the calculator for indoor events to determine how many additional patrons they can accommodate indoors, up to 100 patrons total, which is the indoor variance limit for “medium” viral transmission.
Beginning on May 27, restaurants will be able to open for in-person dining at 50% capacity of the indoor posted occupancy code limit, but they can not exceed 50 people, whichever is less (this count does not include employees). They are also encouraged to provide as much outdoor services as possible. Bars will remain closed. Establishments that do not serve food will be evaluated in June.
Restaurants can only open for in-person dining if the following requirements can be met:
- Patrons in different parties must be a minimum of 6 feet apart. The spacing of tables should be 6 feet OR MORE to ensure proper physical distancing between diners from different parties
- All employees must wear face coverings
- Ensure maximum ventilation by opening windows and minimizing air conditioning to extent possible
- Deep clean and disinfect all shared surfaces between parties/at each turnover
- Parties must stay seated together and will not be allowed to mingle with other parties
Children’s day camps and youth sports camps will open on Monday, June 1, 2020. Residential overnight camps will be closed in June. Decisions for July and August overnight camps will be made in mid-June. Children’s residential camps that choose to operate as day camps must work with the Colorado Department of Human Services and their local public health agency (LPHA) for approval. Day camps, including mobile, youth sports camps, and outdoor camps, must operate with restrictions and strong precautionary measures.
Facial covering requirements in Louisville are covered by City Ordinance, which expands upon the Boulder County Public Health Order. Starting May 8, facial coverings (i.e. a covering made of cloth that covers the nose and mouth) must be worn in public anywhere in Louisville through at least June 30 (City Ordinance extending date from June 5 to at least June 30).This applies to indoor spaces including businesses. Facial coverings must be worn outside where social distancing of 6 feet cannot be maintained.
- Requirements for Customers – facial coverings must be worn while in a business. Please ask customers to comply with requirements to ensure the safety of others or leave the premises.
- Requirements for Employees – facial coverings must be worn while in a business. There may be additional industry-specific guidelines in regards to facial covering for your employees. You can learn more on the State’s website.
Please note that an individual may be exempt from the City Ordinance (i.e. person with existing health condition, children under the age of 2, person in professional office with no face-to-face interaction with the public, etc.).
Boulder County has created a helpful diagram on when facial coverings should be worn.
To comply with the City/County’s orders, please download and print these signs and display them at a visible entrance to your business
- Mask/Facial Covering Guidance for Customers
- Mask/Facial Covering Guidance for Customers (11x17 format)
- Mask/Facial Covering Guidance for Employees
- Mask/Facial Covering Guidance for Professional Office Employees
Feel free to include other signage as recommended by public health officials to meet best practices and protect customers and employees. View additional resources on the City’s Business Resources webpage.
Also, read the City's FAQ on facial coverings.
For indoor/outdoor dining
Please provide a printed copy of the facial covering exceptions for customers to review upon request.
We ask that all individuals comply with the requirements outlined above. Individuals seeing others without facial coverings within a business should report the individual to the store management. Management should then ask the person to put on a facial covering, or leave the store (absent medical or age exceptions).
For non-urgent violations/concerns relating to facial covering requirements, please email email@example.com. If you have an urgent concern, please call the Boulder County Communications Center at 303-441-4444, and an Officer will be assigned to contact you. In an emergency, always dial 911.
Guidelines for Businesses during Safer at Home
Boulder County Public Health has a number of resources for businesses as you start to reopen in compliance with Safer at Home. This includes guidance on best practices, customer and worker protection and checklists for businesses (i.e. grocery/food services, manufacturing, office-based businesses, personal services, retail, etc.). Following these practices ensure we are all working together toward recovery while protecting the public health.
Other Business Poster Resources
The City has also obtained a number of posters that may assist businesses in educating their employees and customers about public health guidance. Feel free to download these and post them in your business.
- Avoid Group Congregation
- When in Collaborative Spaces
- Wash Your Hands Properly
- Wear Mask and Gloves
- By Appointment Only
- Feel Sick Stay at Home
Boulder County Public Health Survey on Facial Coverings and Physical Distancing
Boulder County Public Health (BCPH) recently conducted a business survey focused on facial coverings and physical distancing requirements. BCPH hoped to learn about compliance issues and any unanticipated impacts to the business community. In total, BCPH received 381 responses to the survey. Louisville businesses were actually the largest group of responders (31.55%, 100 individual respondents). Both the Louisville Chamber and the City promoted the survey and encouraged our businesses to respond. Below are the Louisville-only questions included in the BCPH survey:
- Have you read the City of Louisville ordinance requiring facial coverings that is in effect until June 5th?
- Have you posted the City’s posters in your business to make your customers and employees aware of the requirements in Louisville that are different than Boulder County?
- Have you experienced any enforcement issues with customers?
- If yes, what has been the most common issue you have encountered (maintaining 6 foot distance, lack of facial coverings, etc.)?
- Have you contacted the Louisville resource call line or email regarding questions on the local ordinance or enforcement?
Following a series of industry-specific feedback and education webinars, Boulder County Public Health (BCPH) has published guidance in the form of checklists. These checklists are important references for businesses as we transition from the Stay-at-Home Order to a Safer-at-Home period. Additional guidance can also be found on the BCPH webpage. You can call the Department with questions directly at 720-776-0822 or email firstname.lastname@example.org.
Also, please read the Summary of Guidance on Safer-at-Home.
- Safer-at-Home Checklist: Field Services
- Safer-at-Home Checklist: Grocery and Food Service
- Safer-at-Home Checklist: Limited Healthcare Settings
- Safer-at-Home Checklist: Manufacturing
- Safer-at-Home Checklist: Office-Based Businesses
- Safer-at-Home Checklist: Personal Services
- Safer-at-Home Checklist: Retail
- Retail Products Disinfecting Guidance
Weekly Safer-at-Home Industry Support Webinars: May 12 - June 11
Boulder County Public Health and your local Boulder County chambers and economic development partners invite you to a weekly dialogue scheduled from May 12-June 11 exploring how the Safer-at-Home order and other orders affect your industry. Register for an upcoming session to help minimize confusion, get questions answered, hear updates on next steps, and discuss best practices within your industry.
Tuesdays (June 2 and June 9)
- Food Service/Restaurant- 1:00 PM
- Field Service/Real Estate- 2:00 PM
- Limited Healthcare- 3:00 PM
- Personal Services- 4:00 PM
Thursdays (June 4 and June 11)
- Manufacturing- 1:00 PM
- Retail- 2:00 PM
- Hospitality- 3:00 PM
- General Office- 4:00 PM
The Colorado COVID Relief Fund’s purpose is to raise and coordinate allocation of funds based on prevention, impact and recovery needs of community-based organizations in Colorado. This Fund is organized to ensure that the most acute community needs across the state are being addressed and that community voice is reflected in all funding decisions made over time.
Through this Fund, eligible community-based organizations across Colorado may receive a general operating grant of up to $25,000. There are three criteria areas to determine eligibility: Organization type, Populations served, and Alignment with one of the Fund’s three funding priority areas of Prevention, Impact, and Recovery.
Business owners should keep in mind that you have the ability to accept a product, loan, or grant after you apply and are approved. Depending on your situation, a prudent action would be to apply to multiple products and as you weigh your options and learn more of the intricacies of how they interact together, you can then make additional informed decisions on how you will choose to use and expand each of the grants and loans.
- As of March 19, the US Small Business Administration (SBA) has administratively declared the State of Colorado as an economic disaster. Businesses should access the SBA's website to learn more about disaster loans, including the application process.
- Resources for SBA Loan Process from the Boulder Small Business Development Center (SBDC):
- In the application process it is critical to state how coronavirus directly impacted the business. Additional detail to guide your application:
- For businesses with 500 or fewer employees
- Deadline is December 17
- Loans have a max 30-year term. The interest rates are 3.75% for small businesses and 2.75% for non-profits
- Loans are to be used to pay fixed debts, payroll, and accounts payable. They cannot be used to replace lost sales or long-term debt
- Small businesses and non-profits in the religion, gambling, casino, racetrack, and cannabis industries are not eligible
- How to reach the SBA with questions:
- Express Bridge Loan (EBL) Pilot Program
- This program allows small businesses who currently have a business relationship with an SBA Express Lender to access up to $25,000 will less paperwork. EBL loans can only be made by SBA Express Lenders that had a valid Supplemental Loan Guaranty Agreement SBA Express Program (SBA Form 2424) in effect as of the date of the applicable disaster.
- Eligible small businesses are those that were located, as of the date of the applicable disaster, in the Primary Counties that have been Presidentially-declared as disaster areas, plus any Contiguous Counties. The small business must have been in operation when the declared disaster commenced, and must meet all other 7(a) loan eligibility requirements.
- Up to $25,000
- Fast turnaround
- Will be repaid in full or in part by proceeds from the EIDL loan
- Find an Express Bridge Loan Lender via the SBA's Lender Match Tool or through the Colorado District Office of the US SBA.
- Economic Disaster Injury Loan Advance
- Small business owners in all U.S. states are eligible to apply for an Economic Injury Disaster Loan advance of up to $10,000. The SBA’s Economic Injury Disaster Loan program provides small businesses with working capital loans of up to $2 million that can provide vital economic support to small businesses to help overcome the temporary loss of revenue they are experiencing. The loan advance will provide economic relief to businesses that are currently experiencing a temporary loss of revenue. Funds will be made available within three days of a successful application, and this loan advance will not have to be repaid. The advance is not repaid even if a business is not ultimately successful with an SBA EIDL.
The Paycheck Protection Program (PPP) prioritizes millions of Americans employed by small businesses by directing funds towards job retention and business operating expenses. The Program is designed to provide a direct incentive for small businesses to keep their workers on payroll by providing each small business a loan up to $10 million for payroll and certain other expenses. If all employees are kept on payroll for eight weeks, SBA will forgive the portion of the loans used for payroll, rent, mortgage interest, or utilities. Up to 100 percent of the loan is forgivable.
Eligible entities are businesses – including eligible non-profits, Veterans organizations, Tribal concerns, sole proprietorships, self-employed individuals, and independent contractors described in the Small Business Act – with 500 or fewer employees may apply. Businesses in certain industries may have more than 500 employees if they meet the SBA’s size standards for those industries.
These loans will actually be conducted through local and national lenders; they will need to be registered with the SBA in order to process PPP loans. Visit this site to find eligible PPP lenders.
- Loans have a fixed rate of 0.50%
- Any portion of the loan that is not forgivable are due in 2 years
- Loans are equal to the lesser of 2.5 months of average payroll or $10M
- Loans convert to grants equal to amount spent on payroll, rent, interest on mortgage, and utilities for 8 weeks after origination (loan forgiveness by end of June 2020)
The first step in accessing these forgivable loans is to prepare the materials necessary to apply. You should begin confirming your eligibility, gathering the necessary records (payroll, rent, utilities, tax and bank records); the checklist below can assist in this data gathering process.
Did you receive a PPP loan? The SBA has recently released applications to apply for your loan forgiveness.
Your Questions and Our Answers regarding the interaction of Federal programs EIDL and PPP
1. If I am applying for / received an Economic Injury Disaster Loan, is my small business eligible to participate in the Paycheck Protection Program?
Borrowers can apply for both an SBA Economic Injury Disaster Loan and the Paycheck Protection Program loan. However, the Paycheck Protection Program loan funds and the Economic Injury Disaster Loan funds cannot be used for the same purpose. The Paycheck Protection Program loan must be used for payroll (minimum of 75% of the funds received) for it to be eligible for a forgivable loan and the remaining is used for different purposes. Borrowers who accept both loan funds should document the uses of the funds appropriately.
2. Received EIDL – Apply for PPP: Yes, you are still eligible to apply for the Paycheck Protection Program even if you applied for or received an SBA Economic Injury Disaster Loan.
If your Economic Injury Disaster Loan was not used for payroll costs, it does not affect your eligibility for a Paycheck Protection Program loan.
If your Economic Injury Disaster Loan was used for payroll costs, your Paycheck Protection Program loan must be used to refinance your Economic Injury Disaster Loan. The Paycheck Protection Program’s maximum loan amount is $10 million with a fixed 1% interest rate and maturity of two years. Economic Injury Disaster Loan assistance provides up to $2 million loan per business and are long-term, low-interest rate at 3.75% for businesses and 2.75% for non-profits and a maturity of up to 30 years
Any advance up to $10,000 on the Economic Injury Disaster Loan will be deducted from the loan forgiveness amount of the Paycheck Protection Program loan.
For example, a borrower may obtain a loan from the Paycheck Protection Program and use those funds to pay for 8 weeks of payroll or employee retention. They may wish to then dedicate their entire EIDL funds towards working capital, notes payable and accounts payable that do not duplicate the funds provided through the Paycheck Protection Program. If the EIDL loan was used for payroll expenses, the borrower must refinance the EIDL loan with the PPP loan which carries a lower interest rate as well as a shorter maturity period.
3. Do I have to choose one or the other?
Select the loan program that best meets your individual business needs; however, you are not permitted to hold funds from both programs for the same purpose.
The PPP loan has different terms from the EIDL loan. The Paycheck Protection Program’s maximum loan amount is $10 million with a fixed 1% interest rate and maturity of two years.
Economic Injury Disaster Loan assistance provides up to $2 million loan per business and are long-term, low-interest rate at 3.75% for businesses and 2.75% for non-profits and a maturity of up to 30 years
The application period for PPP loans runs through June 30, 2020, but the EIDL application period runs through December 2020. If you have working capital need beyond what is provided by PPP, you can apply for additional assistance through the EIDL program.
If you are applying for both, you can accept PPP first – then decide whether to close on your EIDL approved loan. An EIDL approved loan may be closed within 60 days, and the borrower can choose whether to close on the loan. The EIDL application period runs through Dec. 2020.
The Boulder SBDC is a fast-paced, hands-on, economic development nonprofit that supports the growth and resiliency of small businesses in Boulder County by providing free business consulting, practical workshops & events and connection to resources, including financing. The SBDC helps all types of small businesses – from startups through 2nd stage, from “Main Street” through highly scalable technology ventures.
Importantly, the SBDC offers one-on-one consulting related to applying for available federal assistance. Schedule your appointment today by visiting their website.
Colorado Lending Source has launched a new way to support small businesses: Kiva Hub Partnership. This program seeks to make affordable capital simple and accessible.
For questions, please reach out to the Capital Access Manager from Colorado Lending Source: Rachael Sall at email@example.com.
The Treasury Deptartment partners with community banks and community development loan funds with its Small Business Lending Fund to encourage small-business lending. More than 300 institutions participate nationwide. Find out more at the SBLF website.
Facebook is offering $100M in cash grants and ad credits for up to 30,000 eligible small businesses in over 30 countries where they operate. The grants are to keep your workforce going strong, help with your rent costs, connect with more customers, and cover operational costs. Program details are forthcoming, so check for more information through Facebook.
As a reminder to all businesses with a City of Louisville Sales/Use Tax License, tax return filings and payments should continue through the normal process and timetable. Payments may be made through our online portal, by mail, or by use of the City’s drop box at City Hall. Sales and Use Taxes are collected in-arrears, so in March you are making payments of the taxes you collected in February. The City is making arrangements to collect mail so that we will be able to receive and process your payments. If you have any questions, please contact the Sales Tax & Licensing Division staff directly at 303-335-4514, 303-335-4570, 303-335-4524, or firstname.lastname@example.org. City offices are closed to the public, but staff is working remotely and will return your inquiry.
Learn more about options for online filing and payment.
Reduce Energy Costs While Your Business is Closed
Xcel Energy offers a checklist for businesses to review and implement in terms of recommended shutdown procedures. These may help you minimize wear and tear on equipment as well as reduce energy use.
In addition, you may consider evaluating improvements during shutdown and recovery that can save energy and utility costs in the long-run. Contact Xcel at 877-287-2250 to learn about assessments and rebates available.
- Colorado COVID-19 Business Resource Center
- The Colorado Restaurant Association
- Colorado Health Emergency Leave with Pay (HELP) Rule
- In effect on March 11 and amended on March 26 and April 3, this rule remains in effect for the duration of the State of Emergency declared by the Governor. HELP requires certain employers to provide paid sick leave to allow their employees to get tested for COVID-19 or comply with instructions from a health care official to quarantine or isolate.